Here are some photos from my December 2006 trip to Taipei to visit Rrrrrrronsie-poo (that’s also when I started calling him Rrrrrrrrronsie-poo, no doubt due to jet lag and sleep deprivation). It was the first time I’d visited Taipei in fifteen years (my previous visit was in 1991, when I was 10 and my dad’s family had a reunion).

In front of the West Gate at the Chiang Kai-Shek Memorial

In front of the West Gate at the Chiang Kai-Shek memorial.

A Taipei street at night

A pretty typical street at night in Taipei

Two woman collecting flags on election day

Two old women collecting campaign flags the day after the Taipei city elections were held. I brought my vintage Polaroid Spectra with me last time, but I’m going to have to leave it behind this time because it is so heavy. I will probably bring my Holga camera and my dad’s old digital SLR, however, if he hasn’t changed his mind about giving it to Ron and me.

Back of some buildings in Ximending

A jumble of buildings from the back.

Munch, munch

Catherine Jr., one of my Blythe dolls, being eaten by a stone lion at the Chiang Kai-shek memorial.

My tree wants to poddy all the time, poddy all the time...

I loved this poddy tree outside the Chiang Kai-Shek memorial.

Skylight in the main entrance of the National Taipei Museum

A skylight at the National Taipei Museum

Sexy beast

A fiercely schmexy cat I met in Ximending, Taipei’s answer to Harajuku

Unhappy Doeramon

Slightly queasy looking Doraemons in a claw-game machine

Ron and me

And finally, here I am ensnared in Ron’s nefarious grasp

More photos at my Flickr