The movers came today to ship my stuff back to my parents’ house in California, where I will store it for the next two years or so until Ron and I move back to the States. I am feeling a bit verklempt because I won’t see many of my clothes, DVDs and books for a while. I am already thinking of things I miss and had wanted to bring with me to Taipei but couldn’t justify dragging along–stuff like my copy of The Nutshell Studies of Unexplained Death. Right now I am really hurting for Nutshell Studies, but it was thick and heavy, and I cannot picture any scenario in Taipei where I could possibly need to reference moodily-lit photographs of true crime scenes rendered in miniature diorama form.

I see moving to Taipei as an exercise in learning how to live simply, among other things, and I do think it will behoove me to learn how to live on the contents of two suitcases, a carry-on and a big North Face backpack. In other words, it will be an exercise in self-control.

Ron has already found a lovely apartment for us within walking distance of National Taiwan Normal University, where I will be studying Mandarin for the next six months. He sent me some photos the landlord had taken:

CIMG1069

Now that the majority of my stuff is on its way to my parents’ house, I can start to feel excited about moving, as opposed to stressed out. And as far as I am concerned, this shelf/entertainment center/white thing is the best part about moving to Taipei. Ron warned me about the white thing, which comes with the apartment, but I was enthralled as soon as I saw it. I think it is absolutely the most gorgeous piece of furniture I have ever laid eyes on in my young life. All it needs is some scented rainbow candles and a couple of ceramic unicorns.

CIMG1067

This is the living room. I love this picture, because what it says is “this apartment is so freakin’ fabulous that we don’t even need to adjust the fugly vinyl cloth on the coffee table!”

CIMG1071

This is a corner of what will be our room. Apparently it has a raised Japanese-style sleeping platform, so all we need to throw on it is a futon or something. Cute!

I’m already thinking of cheap ways to decorate the apartment (I hate bare white walls, which remind me of mental hospitals and not in an interestingly ironic “Girl, Interrupted” way, either). Right now, it’s all about the swatch portraits. I’m hoping that Taipei quilting/fabric stores will carry contemporary Japanese fabrics, which come in all sorts of exciting kawaii patterns and motifs, including mushrooms, hedgehogs and oddly-shaped flowers. There is also an Ikea in Taipei, so we’ll be able to deck ourselves out in cheap Swedish splendor in absolutely no time at all.