But I wanted to post this picture of president-elect Ma Ying-Jeou in Ximending in honor of last weekend’s election:

Presidential candidate plushies

I think plushie Ma Ying-Jeou look absolutely nothing like real Ma Ying-Jeou (who, many women believe, is a bit of a 帥哥 [shuài ge], or handsome fellow), but plushie vice presidential candidate Vincent Siew is a pretty reasonable facsimile.

I don’t want anyone to assume that just because I’ve posted a picture of plushie Ma Ying-Jeou means that I support him. Well, maybe I don’t. Or maybe I do. I was just thinking the other day about how when some people find out that I went to Sarah Lawrence College and interned at the Village Voice and Dissent, they automatically assume that I am so progressively liberal that I am off the charts. On the flipside, when certain people hear that I worked at Dow Jones for two years, they assume that I am very conservative, morally, economically and socially. The correct answer is–I am all of these things, because I do not have a stable sense of identity and will adopt whatever ideology I think will gain me acceptance and allow me to avoid conflict with the person(s) I happen to be interacting with in any given situation.

I mean, seriously.

Anyway, my parents were here last weekend on their way to southeast Asia for vacation and we watched the election coverage on television. Two themes seem to emerge in the various talkshows–should Ma Ying-jeou’s wife, Chou Mei-ching, give up her job at a bank because he’s been elected and should their older daughter give up her American passport (she has dual citizenship). I really honestly think people wouldn’t be discussing the first question with such fervency if Ma Ying-jeou were the first spouse-elect, though pundits tend to frame the issue in terms of potential conflicts of interest with the bank as if it wasn’t a gender issue. The idea of a first husband basically being ordered to do nothing but philanthropic work for his wife’s entire term, however, seems completely alien to me.

In other news, Ron is back from covering KbN, the first Taiwanese band to perform at South by Southwest. Yippee! It’s nice not being all miserable and lonely again. I have no idea how I did the long-distance thing for 18 months, but I did.