I have a project that I was wondering if any of you other Taiwanthusiasts can help me with. I’m working on collecting photos of Taiwan that are 25 years or older and feature normal people doing normal things in everyday settings. I know I could just go tearing through my relatives’ photo stashes and I intend to do just that as the opportunities arise, but I’m also interested in seeing photos of other people’s families as well, as well as archival photos from newspapers, history projects, etc. If any of you know of an online Web archive of such photos or have some photos that you are willing to share with me, please let me know.

The reason I’m asking about this is because I’m a vintage fashion and social history enthusiast and I love looking at old photos. I don’t mean glamour photos from movie studios, but photos of people going about their day-to-day lives. I spend a lot time rooting through pictures on the Library of Congress Web site, the Life photo archive on Google and various Flickr groups and I’ve always felt a great deal of pleasure in doing so, but lately I’ve been thinking about how most of the photos that I love looking at are of the US at a time when it was still woefully devoid of any members of my family. I want to look at the sights that my grandparents and great-grandparents might have seen.

Speaking of which, here is a photo of my mom’s gorgeous mom from 1951:

My gorgeous Grandma (外婆) on August 21, 1951

My grandmother lives in Vancouver B.C. and is still equally gorgeous.

And this is totally unrelated, but here is a photo of me all dressed up as a baby in Sunnyvale (I think), California:

me_poncho

Can you tell that I was born in 1981? I would TOTALLY still wear that poncho as a giant collar. Hell, I’d still totally wear that entire outfit. It might be a little bit tight on me, but I think I could swing it.