Since opening my theflyingshu [small mouse] gmail [dot] com e-mail address, I’ve received a couple notes a week about the Huayu Enrichment Scholarship (AKA the Mandarin Enrichment Scholarship). I’ll write a post answering some of the questions to the best of my ability when I get a chance this week, but in the meantime anyone thinking of applying should check out Mandarin Scholarship Taiwan, which is an invaluable reference.

I’ve also noticed that many people find this blog via the keywords “how to write a letter in Chinese.” While I do often have to send e-mails in Chinese, I haven’t answered this question yet because I work in a relatively informal industry and I think the standards of professional etiquette that reporters and PR people in the fields I cover have to abide by are relatively relaxed compared to other sectors (I mean, seriously, have you ever eaten with a journalist? HAHA! Just kidding.). The e-mails I send out and receive probably would not pass muster if I worked in finance, for example. But I do intend to write a blog post about how to write a polite letter in Chinese, if for no other reason than to divert attention from this ridiculous letter I composed as part of my Chinese homework more than a year ago. I will do some research into the etiquette of Chinese letter writing — and by research, I mean I will call my mommy.