I’ve been posting a lot about my wedding last month. It was a very special event for Ron and me. I like writing about it and I still have a lot more to say, but I think I’d be remiss if I did not mention how upset and disgusted we were about the passage of Prop. 8 and the California Supreme Court decision upholding it last month.

Whatever happens to us, I want Ron to be able to count on me. I want the same thing for the children that we have. Being legally married means that I can now do everything in my power to take care of Ron and our family, no matter what hardships or setbacks we might face in the future. There are many different ways to make a family, but civil marriage is one of the strongest bonds a couple can enjoy. I can’t tell you how happy I was when our officiant pronounced us husband and wife, and how sacred our marriage is to me, even we didn’t have a religious ceremony. It is one of the most precious things in my life now. I draw a great deal of personal strength from the strength of our union, and I hope that will help me become a better person who is able to give more of herself to the world.

As Chief Justice Earl Warren wrote in the decision striking down anti-miscegenation laws in Loving V. Virgina, “The freedom to marry has long been recognized as one of the vital personal rights essential to the orderly pursuit of happiness by free men.” (I think it’s important to remember that just over forty years ago, a couple like Ron and me would have been thrown into jail in many states for being married to one another simply because we are not the same race. A lot of the current arguments against same-sex marriage sound eerily similar to arguments against interracial marriage).

Ron and I firmly believe that the right to civil marriage should be granted to all loving couples, regardless of their sexual orientation. It breaks my heart that it is not so. To not exclude gay couples solely on the basis of sexual orientation is logically unsound, ultimately harmful to society and morally inexcusable.