28 years of playing with fire

I was born 28 years ago today.

25 years later, I met Catherine Jr.

Hello from Taipei!

On this momentous occasion, I’d like to thank my parents for being such awesome parents. Ron told me while we were on our honeymoon that “I’m so happy your Mom and Dad are my in-laws.” My parents are very smart, patient, fair-minded, pragmatic, funny, generous, open-hearted, good-looking and kind. I’m very proud of them.

In college, my social psychology professor told us about how teenagers often get embarrassed or uncomfortable when their friends meet their parents because they are put in an incongruous situation. Basically, as a young adult you’ve spent all this time building up the image that you present to your friends every day, and then your parents break that down by bringing a reminder of your past, which you have no control over, into the situation.

I thought this was striking, because I’ve never, ever been embarrassed by my parents in any situation at all, at any age. When I met with my professor later, I told him, “I’m never uncomfortable when my parents meet my friends. In fact, I’m always proud to show them off and I guess that’s because I’m proud of what I’ve inherited from them and also happy with what they have instilled in me.” My parents have always believed in me. They’ve supported so many of my wacky decisions, from the relatively minor (“Hey Mom and Dad! Did you know that you can get married at the zoo?”) to the major (“Hey Mom and Dad! Did you know that there is this college called Sarah Lawrence that is all the way on the other side of the country, has no majors and none of your friends have ever heard of?”) and I am profoundly grateful for that.

So, to my parents, thanks for picking me out of that garbage can in the Marin Headlands all those years ago! I really appreciate it.

me_trashcan