I just remembered I have some photos I took with my various toy cameras over the spring and summer and never posted here. I’ll share them in batches; this one was taken with my Superheadz White Slim Angel, which is basically a dressed-up Vivitar Ultra Wide & Slim. The UWS was originally created as a cheap giveaway camera, but gained a cult following because of its unusually wide lens.

Taipei's World Trade Center
Taipei World Trade Center (台北世界貿易中心)

High Speed Rail trains in Kaohsiung
High-Speed Rail trains in Kaohsiung

Kaohsiung Museum of Fine Arts
Kaohsiung Museum of Fine Arts (高雄市立美術館)

Flowers in the sun
Summer flowers

Flirty girl statue
Pieces of sun flare

Mural on Renai Rd
Mural in front of an elementary school

An alley in Taipei
Alleyway

The Kaohsiung photos are from my trip last spring to visit my uncle and his family while my grandma was staying with them. My aunt took my grandma and me to see the Andy Warhol exhibit at the art museum. My grandma had never heard of Warhol before, but was impressed with him after watching a biopic that was running in a loop at the exhibit. “People from poor families succeed, because when you don’t have money you have ambition instead,” she told me.

I love going on photo walks around Taipei by myself. My migraines and sensitivity to the sun cut into my hobby this summer, but I still had fun exploring different neighborhoods. Taipei isn’t known for being a beautiful city and I sometimes hear residents complain about how slipshod and messy and 亂七八糟​ it is. But in my eyes, it is lovely. I’ve never been obsessed with perfection — if I were, I wouldn’t be able to cope with being me. And in this way, Taipei is a place that suits me very well.