Taroko George, the golden cat

It’s been about a week and a half since Taroko George came into our lives and he’s gotten healthier, sleeker and plumper. When he is not playing with his crazy circle or mistaking his litter box for a play pen (why, oh why, do they do that?), Taroko George sits cozily on our sofa, watching us with his big amber eyes and making cute widdle noises. He’s pretty well-behaved, even though we have to put him into time out at least once a day.

Taroko George, the golden cat

A lot of the assumptions we made about Ah-Gou’s health were wrong (what we saw as signs of neglect were actually just signs of old doggy age), so we didn’t want to read too many things into Taroko George’s condition. When we first saw him, however, he had a bad cat flu, a ring of crusty discharge around his eyes, large patches of black ear wax and was pretty skinny. It seems clear that he was not well taken care of, but at the same time he is very friendly, so I think it is unlikely that he was completely neglected or abused. I wish I knew what his backstory was.

Taroko George, the golden cat

Taroko George, the golden cat

Taroko George, the golden cat

Ron and I are very happy to have a new cat son in our lives, even when George uses us as scratching posts.

Anyway, I’ll start blogging about other things besides my cat soon, including a really cool indoor activity, which is the only kind of activity anyone in Taipei will be doing if the weather gets anymore obnoxious than it already is. There have been just a few patches of clear weather and a little bit of sunlight. Every time the sun shines, I basically drop whatever I am doing and run outside, screaming and waving my arms, to get a little bit of vitamin D.

我們的貓咪很調皮, 可是我們還覺得牠是個小天使.