A few months ago, I stumbled upon some old photos at a secondhand store in Taipei. It made me sad to think of peoples’ family memories collecting dust on a shelf (I’m weird and sentimental like that), so I bought them. Here are a few of my favorites:

Found photo: Girl with flowers
Found Photo: Three girls
Found Photo: Three women

Found Photo: The lady and the doll
Behold! My soulmate!
Found Photo: Wide-angled temple

Found Photo: Pretty lady Found Photo: Hairband Found Photo: Group of young people
I wonder who these people are, what their lives were like, and how their photos ended up in a thrift store. Most of these were probably taken in the late 1960s or 1970s (I bet my relatives who read this blog are thinking “what the heck do you mean by ‘old photos’!?!?!” Don’t kill me!). If you want to see more pictures of everyday people doing everyday things in the Taiwan of the recent past, check out photos posted by fans on the blog for TV series 光陰的故事 (The Story of Time). (The show revolves around several families living in a village near Taipei during the 1970s and early 1980s; part of CTV’s marketing campaign was asking viewers to submit family pictures, which were aired before commercial breaks.)我覺得這些老照片都非常有趣。我對他們裡面人的故事很好奇!