A couple weeks ago, I wrote a story (PDF link) about a combination chocolate store and cafe near Shida called Is Taiwan, Is Chocolate. They specialize in handmade chocolates by Henry & Cary, a Taipei-based brand.

Is Taiwan, Is Chocolate (台北)

Is Taiwan, Is Chocolate also carries a variety of other carefully selected items, ranging from fruit vinegar to handmade silk wraparound trousers, all of which are handmade in Taiwan.

Is Taiwan, Is Chocolate (台北)
Is Taiwan, Is Chocolate (台北)
Is Taiwan, Is Chocolate (台北)
Is Taiwan, Is Chocolate (台北)
Is Taiwan, Is Chocolate (台北)

My favorite flavors are the matcha tea, rose and lavender truffles.

Is Taiwan, Is Chocolate (台北)
Is Taiwan, Is Chocolate (台北)

For more information, please check out my article.

In non-sugar news, I had a busy day today. We took Taroko George to the vet (where he heard him hiss and growl for the first time) and bought some more kitty supplies. Then I mailed some invitations and headed over to Jazz Professional Image Lab on Bade Rd. to get a couple of our wedding photos blown up into posters for our banquet in a couple weeks. For some reason, I assumed that there was a standard wedding banquet vanity poster size, so that was what I asked for. Turns out there is no such thing! The things you learn every day.

Then I had a visit from our downstairs Crazy Neighbor Lady (doesn’t everyone have one?). The floorboards in our apartment building are old, thin and crickety, and whenever Ron or I move around, they make noise no matter how quiet we try to be. For the past two years, CNL has been leaving annoying, exclamation point laden notes and banging on our doorbell in the morning before she drives off to work. But the notes stopped several months ago and this was the first time she’d complained in a while — and in person (the previous doorbell banging was just for harassment purposes, because that’s how crazy people roll).

You know how people who seem positively rabid through letters or e-mail usually become a little bit more normal once you meet them in real life? Well, CNL was just like my imagination — googly eyes, unkempt hair, bared teeth, wild hand gestures, in her pajamas at 7PM. To be fair, I could tell she was trying to be polite, but it was clear someone’s cheese has slid off her cracker. I respect her need for quiet and we’ll continue trying to be as noiseless as possible, but, damn. I think she needs some chocolate.

巧克力是我的朋友。但是,我好喜歡把巧克力給殺。再見,巧克力!你太好吃!