I survived NaBloPoMo 2009
(Badge from NaBloPoMo)

The month of November is over and with it goes the last remnants of my sanity. I’m kidding. Participating in last month’s NaBloPoMo and posting every day (sometimes twice) was a great experience. My entries ranged from candy stores in Taipei to navigating the terrains of self-identity in a highly-charged political climate.

I wrote about my mother’s high school, an intriguing(ly horrifying) leather cocoon, cute public service announcements that probably shouldn’t be cute, plus-size fashion in Taiwan, goat milk home deliveries, a blogging pet peeve, dealing with a chronic illness while living abroad, why I relate to a pointy-eared alien, Taipei’s annual Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered (LGBT) Pride Parade and our wedding banquet. And, sadly, I had to post about the passing of MeiMei, my family’s darling cat.

When I first warned everyone that I would participate in NaBloPoMo, I explained that “I’ve lived here for more than two years and many things that once made me misty-eyed and slack-jawed with wonder and glee are now just part of my daily landscape. I think that is a shame and hopefully the search for things to post about will help the blinders come off.” That did happen. Thinking about things to write (and looking for things to photograph) renewed and deepened my appreciation for my everyday life in Taipei.

During the past 30 days, I’ve also received comments from several new readers. It is wonderful to “meet” you! My blog is a personal project and, as cheesy as it sounds, I do feel a connection with each person who leaves a comment or sends me an e-mail (even though I usually take a gazillion years to reply).

I started this blog to help me keep in touch with my friends and family back in the States, but I didn’t know it would lead to new relationships. I’ve met some really wonderful people because of Shu Flies and I feel so happy and privileged to be a part of your lives. Last week, I even randomly bumped into one of my readers, ETC, at Taiwan Storyland, the first time this has ever happened to me (thank you so much for saying hi to me, it really brightened my day and I hope I wasn’t too out of it!).

I’d like to say thank you to the people who read this blog, and for your kind comments and helpful feedback. It truly means the world to me.