Here are a few of the things bringing joy to my life right now…

Veggie gardens in unexpected places…


I can’t figure out what these plants are (I think they are onion bulbs), but isn’t this cool? Someone made the top of their front gate into a little garden. And they recycled Styrofoam packing containers. How LOHAS!

Yongkang St. mini garden (永康街迷你花園)


Pretty flowers in the midst of winter.


Doesn’t the purple one look like a wreath of hundreds of tiny blossoms? Trippy!

P1130051

P1130049


Going shopping for catnip mice and coming face to face with the store’s Maine Coon, all decked out in his holiday finery…


IMG_4124
“It’s mah purr-rah-gative to give you death eyes, human girl.”


Realizing buying catnip mice is pointless, because my cat is perfectly happy trying to slaughter his own tail…


IMG_4093


Being able to breathe through my nose for the first time this year…

My cold is clearing up. Hallelujah! Hopefully I’ll be all better by the end of this weekend and my head will no longer feel like a cesspool of germs, phlegm and dried, flaky skin. Ugh. Blech. I also realized that Pi Pa Gao (枇杷膏), my cold stand-by, is probably not that great for colds. It’s main ingredients are sugar, peppermint-infused sugar and honey. It also has other herbs in it and is good at soothing my throat for a little bit, but doesn’t sugar hinder your recovery when you have respiratory ailments by encouraging mucus production? As a compromise, I’ve taken to using Pi Pa Gao lozenges instead. They are available at 7-Eleven and come in a little tin.