PICT0288
Jingmei (景美)

1. I’m very thankful that my family was safe after the recent earthquake in the south of Taiwan and that the damage was a lot less worse than it could have been.

2. The weather has been all over the place for the last week and the atmospheric changes have been making my migraines worse. My Mom read my previous post about my headaches and recommended that I try traditional Chinese medicine. She told me she’d gone to a famous doctor called 李深浦 (Lǐ ​Shēn​pǔ​) when she was a little younger than I was and he’d gotten rid of a skin rash Western medicine hadn’t been able to treat completely. Curious to see if he was still working, I Googled him and voila!

李深浦 (picture from his clinic’s Web site)

I can’t wait to go for a check up. I’ve already been to NTU Hospital and the doctor there gave me some painkillers and anti-nausea medication, but those didn’t help any more than my usual over-the-counter treatment regime (I usually just take some ibuprofen, drink some Diet Coke and lie down with an ice pack on my head). I haven’t been to a traditional Chinese medicine clinic since I was about 12 or so. My brother and I accompanied my Mom to one near our home and the doctor entertained the two of us by pulling out the weirdest things he had in his cabinets, including a dried snake. We had a lot of fun, screaming and giggling (then again, I was always the kind of kid who got excited by the organ meats section of the butcher and surgeries on the Discovery Channel). Anyway, I’m glad I have another option. I’m so sick of having migraines and I’d like to find a way to prevent them before summer gets here (shudder). Plus, I really want to try acupuncture. I think it’ll be fun to have needles stuck in me (on purpose for once… I can be a little careless when I sew).

3. I’m grateful that I have a cool Mandarin tutor. We had a conversation about how my school in California prepared for earthquakes (we had duck-and-cover drills and emergency packs, which were big Ziploc bags our parents filled with non-perishable food and supplies). This reminded me about the drought that went on for most of my childhood and how we were taught water conservation measures in school. I started cracking up and she asked me what was so funny. I said, “one of the sayings we had back then was ‘if it’s yellow, let it mellow; if it’s brown, flush it down.'” My tutor thought that was so hilarious she asked me write it down for her. I translated it into Chinese for homework: “如果是黃色的,讓它坐一下,但是如果是棕色的,請把它沖走.” (It doesn’t rhyme, but it gets the point across.) I’m happy that I can share some of my Californian culture with my Taiwanese friends!