When I first moved to Taiwan, Ron and I had these fantasies of jet-setting our way all over Asia. My studies, our jobs and wedding planning got in the way and now we have a needy cat. But over the last two years, I’ve had the chance to go to Hong Kong (visa run, so it really wasn’t a pleasure trip, but I enjoy the lovely harbor views, double decker buses and H&M) and, most recently, Singapore with my friend Eleanor. We both brought our digital harinezumi cameras… here are some of my photos:

Changi Airport
A lounge in Changi Airport, which has repeatedly been named “best airport in the world

Sugar cane and coconuts for drinks
Coconuts to drink out of! I don’t know if they were being sold as a novelty or if drinking out of giant coconut is just a normal thing to do at food courts and hawker centers in Singapore. The meat was also tasty.


Fruit and desserts in the food court of Great World City mall

MICA building
The MICA Building

Taste the rainbow
One of the many high-calorie comestibles I enjoyed on this trip.

Blue truck
There are blue trucks in Singapore, too!

Fabric and carpet stores on Arab St
Fabric and carpet stores in beautiful colonial-era buildings on Arab St.

Arab St fabric
I love how the fabric was displayed.

Sultan Mosque
Sultan Mosque

View from our hotel window
The view from our hotel window. Take a look at that crazy swimming pool!

The glass passageway
The dome of the National Museum of Singapore, as seen through the Glass Passage.

Vintage tiffins
Vintage lunchboxes, or tiffins.

Spices
A display in the National Museum’s gallery on different cuisines in Singapore

I’ll share another round of photos soon. In the meantime, check out my travel article. It has some useful information on Singapore taxis I wish I had known before flying there!