Here are yet more photos of Singapore taken with my Digital Harinezumi. Don’t worry, this is the second-to-last batch.

Fabric
Fabric exhibit in the National Museum of Singapore

Staircase
Staircase in the museum

Taking wedding photos at the National Museum of Singapore
Bride taking her wedding photos in the museum

National Museum of Singapore
The original exterior of the museum with the new extension overhead

National Museum of Singapore
The museum’s rotunda

Sri Veeramakaliamman Temple's gate house
Sri Veeramakaliamman Temple

The Year of the Tiger

Toys in Little India (is that boy smiling at me?)

Rainy day
Outside the temple

I enjoyed my trip to Singapore, but in all honesty, it made me even more grateful for certain aspects of life in Taiwan. The political terrain in this country is difficult to navigate and highly charged, in large part because it is so tied into issues of ethnic and personal identity, but I think it has created a fertile creative environment that is very galvanizing. I wasn’t in Singapore long enough to understand what it is like to be a young artist or designer there (especially if you have viewpoints that are in opposition to the government’s), but I do know that there are limitations to journalistic freedom that I would find difficult to cope with. For more information, take a look at this New York Times column about an apology and payout that the International Herald Tribune (owned by the New York Times) recently made to the leaders of the Singaporean government.