De Stijl vintage jewelry (識得)

A little while ago, I wrote about De Stijl (識得), a cool shop that sells vintage jewelry from Europe and the US in a storefront that encapsulates Taiwan’s 20th century architectural history. Unfortunately, they were forced out of that location because the landlord plans to turn the building into luxury apartments. Their new place is just a few blocks away at 20, Lane 33, Chifeng Rd, Taipei City (台北市赤峰街33巷20號一樓, click here for a map). The store will be closed from May 1 to May 20 as they get ready to reopen.

I’m sad because I know the owner of De Stijl put a lot of love into his old storefront, but I’m sure the new shop will be equally cool, even if it lacks some of the little details, like hand-sculpted plaster molding and original tiling, that made the original De Stijl special (then again, I don’t know if it will… maybe they’ll find some cool things while they are remodeling the new space).