Agam's The Heart of the Fountainhead (Gongguan, Taipei City) 公館,台北市

Those of you use the Gongguan (公館) MRT station or attend Taida might have noticed that Shuiyuan Market (水源市場) on Roosevelt Rd is a lot more colorful now. Israeli artist Yaacov Agam recently used it as the canvas for one of his kinetic paintings, “The Heart of the Fountainhead.” It changes depending on what perspective you view it from.

Agam's The Heart of the Fountainhead (Gongguan, Taipei City) 公館,台北市

Agam's The Heart of the Fountainhead (Gongguan, Taipei City) 公館,台北市

The rainbow colors, lines and use of geometric shapes are trademarks of Agam’s work. He also did “Peaceful Communication with the World” for the World Games last year in Kaohsiung. This photo is from a post I wrote about my trip south with my parents last November.

I interviewed (PDF link) Agam the morning before he left for Paris, where he lives. He talked about the themes in his artwork, including the number nine. “Peaceful Communication with the World” has nine columns and “Heart of the Fountainhead” has nine prisms. I didn’t have space to include his explanation in my article, but basically nine represents the relationship that each person has with the rest of the world. Nine is made up of 1+8. 1 the individual, while 8 symbolizes infinity and communication.

Yacoov Agam demonstrates his "Beating Heart" kinetic sculpture for me
I feel the need to point out that my hair looks less insane in real life.

While interviewing Agam, he demonstrated his “Beating Heart” kinetic sculpture for me. It was really amazing. See the acrylic case and plastic bag on the sofa? That’s what he carries it around in. For a demonstration, watch this video Agam’s son shot: