2010 Taiwan International Tattoo Convention (2010世界紋身精英博覽會)

I just realize I forgot to post tattoo photos from the tattoo convention! Shame on me! Let me tell you, there was some amazing body art there.

2010 Taiwan International Tattoo Convention (2010世界紋身精英博覽會)
2010 Taiwan International Tattoo Convention (2010世界紋身精英博覽會)

There are quite a few tattoo studios in Taipei (especially in Ximending), but I rarely see tattoos (at least visible ones) on Taiwanese people. Several people told me at the convention that although tattoos are gradually becoming more mainstream here, they are still associated with gangsters in the popular imagination. I think that’s interesting because after living in NYC, seeing someone with their entire arm or back tattooed doesn’t strike me as unusual.

2010 Taiwan International Tattoo Convention (2010世界紋身精英博覽會)

2010 Taiwan International Tattoo Convention (2010世界紋身精英博覽會)

2010 Taiwan International Tattoo Convention (2010世界紋身精英博覽會) 2010 Taiwan International Tattoo Convention (2010世界紋身精英博覽會)
The tattoo convention Web site has a list of all exhibitors, along with links to information about their studios. Carrie of My Several Worlds wrote a post last November about getting inked at Needle No. 8 in Taipei (Josh from that studio did the Al Pacino portrait above). And here’s a PDF of my story from last week.