Ah-Tsai’s Restaurant (阿才的店)
Ah-Tsai’s Restaurant (阿才的店)
Stir-fried betel nut flowers

When I walked into Ah-Tsai’s Restaurant (阿才的店), I almost burst into a happy dance. It’s the same feeling of sheer glee I had when I first visited Taiwan Storyland (台灣故事館). Ah-Tsai takes nostalgia so far that it borders on kitsch — and that’s what I love about it. The entire two-story restaurant is plastered with old movie posters and other paper ephemera, furnished with vintage tables and stuffed with knick-knacks and household items from 1960s and 1970s Taiwan. Even the Taiwan Beers are the ones with the retro-looking labels. Everything is housed in a picturesquely dilipidated-looking storefront on Jinshan S Road (金山南路) near the corner of Renai Rd (仁愛路).

Ah-Tsai’s Restaurant (阿才的店)

 

Ah-Tsai’s Restaurant (阿才的店)


I want to go back to Ah-Tsai with my wide angle lens, but I couldn’t wait to post these photos. Ah-Tsai has a very wide menu of Taiwanese classics and (of course) lots of Taiwan Beer. The cooking isn’t mind-blowing, but it’s tasty, especially if you are fond of very strong flavors (almost all the dishes we ordered had heaps of garlic, chili or scallions). For a more detailed description of some items, check out my review. Ah-Tsai is located at 17, Ln 41, Renai Rd Sec 2, Taipei City (台北市仁愛路二段41巷17號; the entrance faces Jinshan South Road (金山南路)), tel: (02) 2356-9109.

Ah-Tsai’s Restaurant (阿才的店)

 

Ah-Tsai’s Restaurant (阿才的店)

 

Ah-Tsai’s Restaurant (阿才的店)

 

Sanbei Chicken
Ah-Tsai’s Restaurant (阿才的店) Ah-Tsai’s Restaurant (阿才的店) Ah-Tsai’s Restaurant (阿才的店)
Ah-Tsai’s Restaurant (阿才的店)