'0416 founders Liao Chen-hung (廖振宏) and Robin Chen (陳榮彬)
‘0416X1024 designers Robin Chen (陳榮彬) and Liao Chen-hung (廖振宏)


T
-shirt and stationery brand ‘0416X1024 (usually known as just ‘0416) first caught my eye when I wondered into their boutique in Ximending’s Shinjuku Plaza (西門新宿) nearly three years ago. I loved how the sweet, child-like marker illustrations contrasted with their subversive sense of humor and wacky characters. As you can see, many of their designs rely on the timeless power of fart iconography:

Don't worry, be happy
Me and my fart

Back then, ‘0416 founders Liao Chen-hung and Robin Chen had one tiny shop in the mall, balancing their full-time advertising design careers with their fledgling brand. Their hard work paid off and last fall the business partners opened ‘0416X1024 Life Shop near the Zhongshan MRT (中山接運站). A lifestyle store, it sells clothing, accessories, stationery, handmade jewelry and home decor items. I think they should branch off into children’s wear, too.

Feeling hairy
'0416X1024 store
I need only half of you for me to lean on
'0416 "I support you 100%" tee
'0416 notebooks
木京杉 concrete vases
A little house

Both designers still take on freelance advertising work. One of Liao’s creations is Okapi, the Books.com.tw mascot. The Web site did on a cool feature on Liao’s seven favorite things, including his serger, ergonomic office chair and Muji markers.

For more about ‘0416X1025 and store information, please check out my article.

Please vote for me in the 2010 Taiwan Best Blog Awards! It just takes two clicks… one here, and then another under the plus sign. Thank you!