Taipei Toy Festival 2011 (台北國際玩具創作大展)

The Taipei Toy Festival is on right now (mmm, I can almost smell the vinyl wafting from Huashan 1914 Creative Park over to my apartment) and runs through tomorrow. I spend each year looking forward to it and then a day or two running like crazy through the exhibition, taking photos, inspecting handmade figures and blowing way more cash than I planned. I think I comported myself pretty well this year, though, because I only bought an Amanda Visell seahorse and rider figure by Paradise Toy. One of a kind versions of the seahorse made by Visell were also on sale.

Taipei Toy Festival 2011 (台北國際玩具創作大展)

This year’s “character of honor” is Old Master Q (老夫子), one of the most popular comic characters in the Chinese-reading world (here is an article I wrote a couple years ago about how the brand, which is nearing its 50th anniversary, keeps itself current). Old Master Q invited artists to re-imagine Old Master Q and his friends. I loved Colasa‘s eerie T-shirt designs.

Taipei Toy Festival 2011 (台北國際玩具創作大展)

Mmm… jellyfish and brains, my favorite summer salad.

Taipei Toy Festival 2011 (台北國際玩具創作大展)

Three-Eyed Mickey is one of the many limited edition figures for sale at the festival.

Taipei Toy Festival 2011 (台北國際玩具創作大展)

One of the Three-Eyed Mickey’s co-producers is COLT, Inc, Edison Chen’s design company. Chen was on hand to sign autographs after the opening ceremony with his (rather attractive) bodyguard in tow. Everyone who wasn’t manning a booth crowded around the stage to take snapshots of Chen, which was just great for me because it made it easier for me to get to my toys.

Taipei Toy Festival 2011 (台北國際玩具創作大展)

La Petite Mu Mu by Hong Kong’s Fion Ko, one of my favorite indie toy designers.

Taipei Toy Festival 2011 (台北國際玩具創作大展)

D-La‘s intrepretation of Anping sword lions (安平劍獅).

Taipei Toy Festival 2011 (台北國際玩具創作大展)

The ever popular, highly customizable C.i.Boys series.

Taipei Toy Festival 2011 (台北國際玩具創作大展)

You know how Milan Kundera defines kitsch as the “denial of shit”? Well, what would Kundera say about alien shit? This nifty set up by Dream Worker (夢工廠) attracted a lot of attention.

Taipei Toy Festival 2011 (台北國際玩具創作大展)

An absolutely amazing Bruce Lee figure by ENTERBAY.

Taipei Toy Festival 2011 (台北國際玩具創作大展)

A figure from Taiwan Kungtsai’s (台灣工仔)  laborer series.

Taipei Toy Festival 2011 (台北國際玩具創作大展)

A detail from Taiwan Kungtsai’s chandelier-like “fish skeleton” sculpture.

Taipei Toy Festival 2011 (台北國際玩具創作大展)

For more information about the Taipei Toy Festival, please see their Web site or my article. I have a few more photos from the event on my Flickr.