Soda can wire sculpture
Soda can wire sculpture

A few months ago, the price of 600ml bottles of Diet Coke in Taiwan rose from NT$25 to NT$29. The fact that I even care about this does not bode well for my dental health. I am sensitive to caffeine, but Diet Coke is a gateway drug. Now I’m just innocently sipping an ice cubed filled glass on hot mornings to perk up… the next thing I know, I’ll be guzzling down pints of espresso on an empty stomach, screaming “IT’S NOT WORKING!!! I’VE PLATEAUED!!! ” Anyway, when I was in Tainan a couple months ago, I found a very cool stall across the street from the Anping Tree House (安平樹屋) where a couple make and sell intricate sculptures carefully twisted from thin aluminum strands cut out of soda cans. When I was purchasing my miniature Diet Coke chair, hands shaking and pupils dilating as I handed over the money, they told me that Diet Coke cans are the hardest to find. Oh?

Soda can wire sculpture
Soda can wire sculpture
Soda can wire sculpture
Soda can wire sculpture

The aluminum wire sculpture is a great example of Taiwanese folk art made with disposable materials — I’ve seen flowers made from drinking straws that look like dandelions and slippers woven from strips of fabric. The stand operates on weekends and most weekdays… I have their phone number somewhere and will post it once I sort through my thousands and thousands of name cards.

這一對台南夫妻把汽水罐作成鋁蕾絲。我真的後悔我沒買那隻安平劍獅!但是,我買可樂Zero椅子的原因是因為我的血統跑的血幾乎都是可樂Zero。