Like the Walrus and the Carpenter in “Through the Looking Glass,” Ron and I both enjoy raw shellfish. We had oysters for our first anniversary dinner and I saved a shell as a memento. I continued to collect a shell from each of our anniversary meals for a couple years until I realized it wasn’t a good idea to accumulate detritus from every special occasion we celebrate together (though I did clean and bleach the shells after I brought them home). We marked the seventh anniversary of our first date recently with a trip to Oyster Bar in Xinyi District’s Bellavita mall and I only snapped photos of what we ate, even though I was tempted to discreetly hide a whelk shell in my purse.

Oyster Bar at Bellavita

Like most other restaurants in Bellavita’s food court (including a bakery that sells a cake covered with gold dust), the Oyster Bar is pricey, but they have a large selection of European oysters that cover a wide spectrum of flavors, from delicate to robust and briney. We ordered crab cakes from their selection of seafood tapas. They were big and tasty, but at over NT$300 for two cakes, I think we would have been better off ordering a couple extra oysters.

While at the Oyster Bar, Ron and I realized we could not remember what we had done for our wedding anniversary in May. I looked through my photos and saw that our day started off with a delicious all-you-can-eat buffet and steak lunch at the Palais de Chine hotel near Taipei Main Station, followed by a friend’s wedding buffet at the Far Eastern Plaza Hotel. No wonder we couldn’t remember what we did. We ate ourselves silly. I told Ron that we should do the exact same thing for all of our anniversaries, so we won’t forget. I’m OK with that, as long as it involves raw seafood.

Oyster Bar at Bellavita
Oyster Bar at Bellavita
Oyster Bar at Bellavita