Mother's Day scrapbook layout 

I‘ve always been fascinated by scrapbooking. I love the idea of presenting photographs and ephemera in a totally idiosyncratic way, the tactile joy of playing with paper, glue and ink, and that rustling noise scrapbooks make when you flip through them. It wasn’t until a month ago, however, that I decided to try my hand at modern scrapbooking (in other words, making layouts to showcase one thing instead of just attaching them to the page). I don’t know why I waited so long… I’m now obsessed! I love planning layouts and I’ve been gleefully playing with craft supplies I haven’t used  since grade school: glitter, puffy paint, stickers, rhinestones, those glue sticks that go on purple but dry clear. Of course, I had to make a special layout for Mother’s Day.

  Mother's Day layout detail 
There are several scrapbooking and paper crafting stores in Taipei that I enjoy shopping at (DIY Art in Eslite’s Xinyi and Dunnan locations, Created With Love near the Shandao Temple MRT station, Daisy Day a couple blocks away from the Beitou stop). Most scrapbooking supplies are imported in small quantities from the US, however, and can get pricey. As a result, I’ve started keeping my eye out at stationery stores like JSF (金興發) for embellishments, art supplies and card stock. There is a store near the entrance of Shida Night Market that is packed with reasonably priced, adorable products — in fact, that is where I purchased most of the items I used in my Mother’s Day layout, including the faux bois paper.

Oct 26, 1986

I used a photo that my Dad took in Golden Gate Park when my brother and I were 4 and 5, respectively. Before my wedding in 2009, my very organized Mom gave my brother and me thumbnail drives filled with 25 years of photographs scanned and sorted by date, so I know that this particular photo session took place on Oct 26, 1986. When we were very small, my Mom used to dress us up in coordinating outfits, some of which were made by my Grandma. I still have that little red barrette that was clipped into my hair.

  Mother's Day layout detail

Looking at our faces in this photo reminds me that one of the things that we inherited from both our parents is a good sense of humor. It has helped me enormously throughout my life. Thanks for your wit and cheerfulness, Mom! (And for not getting angry at me that time you had to replace the oven interior after I set it on fire.) I love you!

Mother's Day layout detail