Filaments 
 It’s been a hectic couple of weeks for me, as you can probably tell by my lack of posting. Ron and I were eating dinner at a restaurant today when I looked up into the pendant lamp hanging above our table and noticed the gorgeous light bulb. Check out all those filaments! I first learned about hand-blown vintage-style light bulbs a few months ago when I did a story about Fun Fun Town. They import Edison bulbs from Ferrowatt in South Carolina. I had no idea that there was an entire company dedicated to supplying authentic reproduction light bulbs for historic properties and people who are really, really into esoteric lighting fixtures. It’s one of those little things that just fills me with glee. I love learning about communities of enthusiasts who are passionate about something I had no idea existed. It reminds me that there is still so much to discover out there. I don’t know what kind of light bulb this is, but I love it, in part because I’m so used to compact fluorescent light bulbs now that one with filaments seems almost exotic. I would have spent more time examining it, maybe even twisted out of its socket for a closer look, if it weren’t for the whole risk of electrocution thing.
I’ll be back to my regular posting soon. I always feel bad about slacking off with updates. I’m going to set a goal for myself — from now on I’ll try to post a couple of times per week. Please let me know if there is anything you’d like me to write about.