plants, Taiwan design, Taipei design, indie designers, ceramics

I‘m thrilled to introduce Weekend Market, my new blog series. This is a very exciting time for the design industry in Taiwan. In my parents’ generation, Taiwanese children weren’t encouraged to seek careers in creative fields, but that attitude is gradually shifting and now there are a lot of young designers and artists who have a chance to help Taiwan find its own aesthetic identity. Many of them have a day job, but they spend evenings lovingly creating items to sell online or at weekend “creative markets” like the Red House Market for Artists and Designers. I’ve written about Taiwan’s design industry for almost four years and it’s very exciting to watch an artist or designer go from selling on weekends to being able to launch his or her own store — perhaps even several of them. (‘0416 X 1024 is a good example of the opportunities available to creative entrepreneurs who put in the long hours and hard work it takes to launch a new business.)

I always talk about how much I love the design industry here, and now I want to start showcasing some of my favorite brands. This week’s theme was inspired by my walks during the many sunny days we’ve enjoyed in Taipei this last week. Everything outdoors is so lush and verdant, and it inspired me to bring more plants into our apartment. Unfortunately, my cat likes to eat plants even more than I like to look at them. Greensprout‘s “3D landscape paintings” are a beautiful solution to my feline problem. George may see them as tasty salad buffets — but he won’t be able to reach them. Heh heh.

plants, Taiwan design, Taipei design, indie designers, ceramics

plants, Taiwan design, Taipei design, indie designers, ceramics

Greensprout also creates lovely bouquets, like this one showcasing peony flowers. I have a soft spot for peonies because they were an “accidental” theme at my wedding. I didn’t do it on purpose, but I had peonies everywhere: embroidered on my qipao, on the print of the vintage dress I wore in our engagement portraits, in my bouquet…

plants, Taiwan design, Taipei design, indie designers, ceramics
All above photos by Greensprout

Next up is studio Kiln in the Paddy (下田窯). Their handmade ceramics feature organic shapes and complex glazes that complement cacti and succulents very well. Kiln in the Paddy sells many of their creations online on Pinkoi.

plants, Taiwan design, Taipei design, indie designers, ceramics
plants, Taiwan design, Taipei design, indie designers, ceramics
plants, Taiwan design, Taipei design, indie designers, ceramics
Photos by Kiln in the Paddy

Goodmore wraps up the first edition of Weekend Market. Almost all of their vases and planters are sculpted from concrete, but they manage to create many variations from that simple material. One of my favorite things about the brand is how carefully they match plants with their containers to create a balance of shapes and textures. Goodmore recently started collaborating with Fun Fun Town, a home decor store I profiled a few months ago. For more pictures, check out their Facebook page.

plants, Taiwan design, Taipei design, indie designers, ceramics
plants, Taiwan design, Taipei design, indie designers, ceramics
plants, Taiwan design, Taipei design, indie designers, ceramics
Photos by Goodmore

All of the brands featured above have Pinkoi stores. If you need help purchasing something, email service AT pinkoi DOT com. Thanks for looking, and I hope you enjoyed this first edition of Weekend Market!