VVG At Home at Huashan 1914 (華山1914) 

I know it’s trendy right now, but I love the term “pop-up” so much that when I pitch freelance stories, I’m tempted to tell editors I’m a pop-up journalist. I’ve taken a lot of pleasure in describing VVG At Home at Huashan 1914 (華山1914) as a “pop-up shop,” but the team behind the VVG empire has  taken pains to create something that looks like more than just a temporary retailing location. VVG At Home is like a cross between an Anthropologie flagship store and Frances Hodgson Burnett’s “The Secret Garden.” Unlike Anthropologie, however, it is not filled with overpriced synthetic fiber clothing with wonky seaming. (Seriously, everything I have ever purchased from Anthropologie has practically dissolved the first time I washed it.) VVG was launched by a team of interior or graphic designers and while prices at their restaurants and bookstore VVG Something (好樣本事) are a bit high, everything is carefully chosen for its beauty and quality. They often collaborate with independent brands and emerging designers (VVG At Home opened alongside the “Ordinary Beauty (普通美)” exhibition, which was curated by Itis Edition (版語)).  
VVG At Home at Huashan 1914 (華山1914) VVG At Home at Huashan 1914 (華山1914)
I’m tempted to steal this slogan for birthday cards… but instead of “friends” it would say “relatives” and I would send it out to assorted family members. Heh heh.
VVG At Home at Huashan 1914 (華山1914)
I recently took a papakaori mini-album workshop at VVG Something (selected as one of the most beautiful bookstores in the world by Flavorwire). I had a great time there, assembling my album from scraps of fabric and paper, admiring papakaori’s work and just soaking up the atmosphere. If you are as big a fan of VVG Something as I am, then your head will explode when you walk into VVG At Home. I didn’t look up photos of the space before I headed over to Huashan 1914, so I was surprised by all the indoor trees and giant bouquets of orchids. 
VVG At Home at Huashan 1914 (華山1914) VVG At Home at Huashan 1914 (華山1914)

 VVG At Home at Huashan 1914 (華山1914)

VVG At Home at Huashan 1914 (華山1914) VVG At Home at Huashan 1914 (華山1914) VVG At Home at Huashan 1914 (華山1914) VVG At Home at Huashan 1914 (華山1914)
I was tempted to purchase this box of cute little stamps, but I’ve busted my paper crafting budget for this month (and, er, many months to come). I love the simple motifs though—I could use them to make my own washi tape by stamping designs onto tissue paper. They are so versatile! Bleurgh! Must… sit… on… wallet…
VVG At Home at Huashan 1914 (華山1914) VVG At Home at Huashan 1914 (華山1914) VVG At Home at Huashan 1914 (華山1914)
I didn’t buy anything, but I did treat myself to a perfectly tart mixed berry pie and the ginger ale with pineapple and mint that I showed off in yesterday’s post. The berry pie probably would have gone better with a coffee or tea (or the ginger ale should have been paired with a scone), but I couldn’t resist ordering both because I have a raging sweet tooth. They were delicious.
VVG At Home at Huashan 1914 (華山1914)
VVG At Home runs until Aug. 22 in the Red Brick Area of Huashan 1914. Huashan 1914’s street address is 1 Bade Road Section 1 (八德路一段1號), but the Red Brick Area (a cluster of brick buildings) is at the corner of Hangzhou North Road and Beiping East Road (杭州北路和北平東路).