Layout: A Conversation
 

I buy many of my English-language books off Books.com.tw (博客來). The Web site has a large selection, offers free shipping and you can pay for and pick up books at your nearest 7-Eleven. The drawback is that you sometimes have to wait a while for non-Chinese language book shipments to arrive. By the time my copy of “Art of Layers” by Ronda Palazzari landed at 7-Eleven three weeks after I placed my order, I had totally forgotten about it and was a bit miffed at myself that I now had to go and fork over NT$875, my entire candy budget for the day. It turned out that I loved “Art of Layers,” however, and I’m really happy that I have a copy—I’ve learned a lot about paper crafting and mixed media art by reading it. This layout was inspired by one of the simpler projects in the book, which used a rectangular stamp to create little frames for photos and embellishments.
Layout: A Conversation

It was very quick and easy to do, and I was able to use up some photo printouts that were leftover from a mini-album I made for our wedding anniversary in May.
Layout: A Conversation

I made the scalloped strip of tape using the burnished glitter technique. Basically, you pile glitter onto one side of double-sided tape and rub it in with your finger until it’s firmly adhered. Once you’re done, the glitter won’t flake off the tape. 
Seeing that photo of Catherine Jr on my layout reminded me that some of my Blythe friends have asked me if I’m still a Blythe fan because I haven’t posted any new photos of my dolls recently. I am still very much a member of the big-headed Japanese doll cult, but they have been superseded by George as my favorite photo subject. Also, I have to admit that I’ve become a bit shy about posting photos of my dolls on this blog because I also use it to promote my professional work. I was worried that editors would see pictures of my Blythes while looking for my clips and think “Wow, she’s a grown woman who plays with dolls” before running off to find another freelancer. The thing is, I am a grown woman who plays with dolls. I also play with stickers, stamps and glitter. All of these things make me happy—and when I’m happy I’m more productive in general. I’m very lucky to have a career that I love, but I think it’s extremely important to have a leisure activity that is not related to what you do for money. Seeing the lovely doll portraits other Blythe collectors posted onto Flickr inspired me to learn more about photography. I don’t make doll clothing very often, but I learned how to knit in the round on double-pointed needles at a fine gauge because I wanted to make Blythe-sized sweaters. I’ve also made friends all over the world through the Blythe community. I love seeing updates about their lives in Sweden, Japan, Hong Kong, Germany, Switzerland, England, Australia, Mexico, the Netherlands, Greece…
And, honestly, being a grown woman who plays with dolls is not that weird. Being a grown woman who eats dolls, on the other hand…
Anyway, I hope you have enjoyed this latest installment of Scrappy At Last, and please let me know if you are also a fan of paper crafting and/or Blythe dolls (or just have a cool, offbeat hobby… I really enjoy learning about people’s pastimes).