Untitled

Watching the London Olympics made me feel nostalgic for the two trips I was lucky enough to take to England as a student. The first was a month-long study abroad session in Oxford during high school and the other was a shorter one I took freshman year of college. Both were before digital cameras were commonplace and sometimes I’m sad that I don’t have more photos to remember all the things I saw. If I went to the UK now, my lens would be clicking constantly. But I can also appreciate how only having a little 35mm film point-and-shoot benefited me. During my weeks in Oxford, I spent a lot of time exploring the city and university by myself. I ate many cream teas, went on a self-directed walking tour of all the places Charles Dodgson incorporated into “Alice in Wonderland” and just generally tried not to freak out that I was IN OXFORD. I loved it.

Though it’s been 15 years, everything is still very vivid in my mind: the way Magdalen College’s dining hall smelled constantly of curry (though I never actually saw any curry served there); the dust that blew in my eyes when I stood in front of Christ Church College trying to figure out which set of windows had once been Dodgson’s rooms; my first sip of dandelion and burdock soda; the taste of the barley sugar candy I bought from Alice’s Shop; feeling both awed and unsettled by Sir Jacob Epstein’s sculpture of Lazarus in New College Chapel; exploring the aisles of Boot’s, where even hand soap seemed special and exotic to my American eyes. I have to admit that none of these memories would be as clear if I had been focused on taking photos and posting them to Instagram. In fact, I didn’t even remember to snap pictures until the last few days of my trip (admittedly, I then ran around in a panic with my camera).

Untitled

My birthday was last week and Ron treated me to dinner at Just In Bistro. I managed to forget my camera and smartphone. Of course I was annoyed that I didn’t take more photos for scrapbooking (the one above was snapped with Ron’s phone), but I did enjoy making a giant mess out of my Singaporean chili crab. If I had had pricey electronic gadgets with me, I would have been more careful, but I actually really enjoyed just being able to tuck into my meal, picking for bits of crab meat with my fingers.

Untitled
Maybe it’s just my imagination, but every time Ron and I eat seafood while out, I swear George gives us a suspicious look when we come back home. No chili crab for you, cat!
Untitled
George got back at me this time by trying to destroy my happiness… my double happiness hanging, that is. 
Untitled
As much as I love taking snapshots with my iPhone, I really want to start using my analog cameras more. I think they miss me and are sick of being used as home decor only. Also, the fact that it takes more work to produce a good shot on film actually helps me enjoy the process of photography more (until I get the roll developed and see my blurry shots, that is!). That will be my September goal.

August Break 2012