Daisy Day, Taipei 
Daisy Day, Taipei

Daisy Day in Taipei! I love writing that. Daisy Day is a little shop near the Beitou MRT station (北投捷運站) filled with scrapbooking and card-making goodness, from beautiful patterned cardstock and scalloped paper punches to sparkling jeweled brads and richly pigmented stamping inks. The store itself is adorable—it is exuberantly feminine and basically the crafting boutique equivalent of a cupcake (seriously, after taking these photos, I craved a cupcake).

Daisy Day, Taipei
Daisy Day, Taipei
Daisy Day, Taipei
Daisy Day, Taipei

When I first started scrapbooking, all I wanted was to preserve brochures, menus, to-do lists and other ephemera from my wedding in 2009. I find it hard to keep a daily journal, but I tend to keep bits and pieces of paper from everything: all my notebooks from college, the flyer for a grad school seminar Ron and I attended together before we even started dating, the flash cards I showed off in my previous post, the ticket for the airline flight that took us back to the US for our wedding, prescription packets from George’s first visit to the vet, a Miffy coffee cup sleeve from 7-Eleven’s recent promotion. I do this because I have a lousy memory, but I also know that I can’t keep cluttering up our closets and cupboards with stuff. So I came up with a great solution: glue the stuff onto other stuff and make it into a book!

Daisy Day, Taipei
Daisy Day, Taipei
Daisy Day, Taipei

Scrapbooking combines a lot of my longtime interests: stationery, photography and writing. Paper crafting also has another benefit: it lets me indulge my love of all things girly. Over the past couple of years, my personal style has become increasingly simple and practical. But a big part of me also just wants to enjoy rhinestones, scallops and big, fluffy ribbon roses. I may not feel comfortable leaving the house covered head-to-toe in glitter, but I sure enjoy smothering my scrapbook pages in the stuff (which, of course, usually ends up in me being covered head-to-toe in glitter). Daisy Day is very colorful, and color always makes me feel energized.

Daisy Day, Taipei
Daisy Day, Taipei

My current project is a mini-book for Shimelle Laine’s Learn Something New Every Day class. I also signed up for Mary Ann Moss’ Remains of the Day class, about how to turn scraps of paper into an art journal. I’ve been sorting through all the press releases brochures and flyers I’ve collected from four years of reporting in Taipei to figure out which ones I will sew into my book. Everything else will get recycled (I swear!).

Daisy Day, Taipei
Daisy Day, Taipei

If you live in Taipei and love paper crafting as much as I do, check out my recent Taipei Times article about scrapbooking and stamping stores in the city. Daisy Day is located at 69 Zhongzheng St, Taipei City (台北市中正街69號), (02) 2897-0017 and you can get the lowdown on specials and classes on their Facebook page.