Just In Bistro

Hey Weekend Market readers, I didn’t have time to add another post to the series this weekend, but I hope you will accept these photos of food as an apology [bows head]. Just In Bistro is one of our favorite Western-style restaurants in Taipei and Ron and I often go there for special occasions: birthdays, wedding anniversaries, the anniversary of our first date, the 33rd month anniversary of the day George came into our lives, etc. Just In Bistro was founded by chef Justin Quek and serves Asian-inspired twists on traditional French bistro dishes.

On our last visit, Ron and I kicked off our meal with the smoked salmon appetizer pictured above.

Just In Bistro
Just In Bistro

Our intense face-off for the last savory morsel of fish was interrupted by the arrival of our chicken laksa, one of Just In Bistro’s specialities.

Our waiter asked me if I wanted a bowl so I could share the spicy, creamy coconut milk broth, rice noodles and tender slices of chicken with my husband. “Nooooooo!” I roared, before picking up the entire portion of laksa and dumping it down my throat. Unperturbed, the waiter placed Ron’s order of beef cheek Bourguignon in front of him. I also ate it.

Just In Bistro

It was delicious!

Just In Bistro
Just In Bistro

For dessert, I had a plate of freshly baked financiers (you have to order them at the beginning of your meal) and Ron’s creme brulee.

I highly recommend visiting Just In Bistro, especially if you go with a dining companion who knows how to order. Mmm! The restaurant is in the Neo 19 building at 22 Songren Rd, Taipei City (台北市松壽路22號2樓). For reservations, call (02)8786-2000.