LSNED 2012
LSNED 2012
I‘ll be blunt: September was a horrible month. It was difficult for me, my family and many of my friends. Several of my core beliefs and values were tested as I saw hardships dealt to people who have never been anything but kind, earnest and loving. But a few good things happened that I am truly grateful for. One of them was Shimelle Laine’s Learn Something New Every Day online journaling and scrapbooking class. I enrolled in it because I love Shimelle’s video tutorials and figured that LSNED would be a great way to use up some of my papercrafting stash. As it turned out, LSNED and Shimelle’s journaling prompts helped me see things in a more positive light during a time when I was very tempted to become bitter and cynical.
LSNED 2012
LSNED 2012
LSNED 2012
LSNED 2012
LSNED gives its participants a lot of flexibility in what their finished albums look like. Some students write long entries in a notebook, while others make 12-inch by 12-inch scrapbook layouts. Before the class began, I decided to keep a small journal and write brief responses to Shimelle’s daily journaling prompts. Over each weekend, I distilled each day’s musings into one or two sentences, pasted it onto 6-inch by 6-inch squares of cardstock, and illustrated that with an Instagram photo and some embellishments. (My cover features stickers by artist Oly that I purchased at Booday).
LSNED 2012
Though there is very little writing in my mini-album, I can track the changes in my mood by the look of the pages. At the beginning of the month, when things were still relatively normal, I used a free hand with layered stickers, die cuts, glitter, buttons and other fun bits and bobs. By the middle of the month, my pages became increasingly simple.

 

LSNED 2012
LSNED 2012
Shimelle’s prompts were meant to help us draw out an overarching lesson or theme from the events of each day, no matter how routine they were. As I flip through my journal, I can see that there were three things I constantly thought about: how grateful I am for the strong relationships in my life; my responsibility to the people I care about; and what I need to do to take charge of my life instead of passively letting things happen to me.

 

LSNED 2012
LSNED 2012
The above page cracks me up because I totally forgot that I wrote this in my notebook: “Whatever you do, don’t fuck with Sundays.” I think it was a reminder to myself to have at least one day of rest each week, no matter how busy I am or how unsettled I feel.
LSNED 2012
LSNED 2012
LSNED 2012

The back cover of my album features a quote by author Stuart Wilde. I don’t agree with all his beliefs, but I love this sentence. It reflects something I’ve been thinking a lot about: taking responsibility for every moment of our lives leads to greater freedom.

My LSNED album (which I call the Purple Paper Eater because it did indeed consume a good deal of my cardstock stash) is already very precious to me. It’s something bright that came out of a dark time, and it will help me remember the lessons I learned during a month I would otherwise try very hard to forget. Let’s hope October 2012 brings better tidings for everyone.

PS On a more whimsical note, did you catch George’s guest appearance in one of my photos? (No, not the layout pictures). He does his best to hog the camera and I do my best to crop him out.