Well, it’s March 5 and I’m two days too late to do my X things on the X date of X month. So today it will be X things on the Y date of X month. Lately I’ve been thinking of the trips I took with my parents to visit our relatives in Taipei back in the 1980s and early 1990s. I’ve forgotten how many times we flew over before my paternal grandparents moved to the U.S. when I was 12. After that, I didn’t return until I was 25 to visit Ron in Taipei. We got engaged on that trip and I moved here a few months later. My theme for this month’s list is family memories.

 

1. Now that I’m really into scrapbooking and art journaling, I love this page my Mom put together. I think the photo and the sprig of leaves were from National Cheng Kung University in Tainan, where my parents went to school (and now one of my favorite cities).

Mom and Dad as university students

2. One of our first visits to Taiwan as a family was in 1985 when my brother Mike and I were toddlers. Chiang Kai-shek Memorial looked so different back then.

Mike, mom and me in 1985

 

3. Look at us in South Dakota… wait a sec. Nevermind, this is a visit we made to Windows On China (小人國) in Taoyuan. I know–it sounds like it should be a restaurant on Kinmen, right? Windows On China is a theme park filled with miniatures of various landmarks from around the world. I loved it and I’ve often thought about making a return trip as a grown-up. Hmmm, maybe that should be my next weekend excursion?

小人國!!!