Untitled

In honor of Cinco De Mayo, we renamed George… Jorge. And in honor of Jorge, we renamed Cinco De Mayo… Jorge Day! Then my husband and I decided to celebrate by heading out to Xinyi District for food. Unfortunately, we were unable to take Jorge with us because Jorge is a cat. We missed him during our afternoon, but that did not stop us from having a good time. Here are five highlights from Jorge Day.

 

1. Ron and I went to Woolloomooloo for linner, the meal that exists in the delicious spot between lunch and dinner. We split one of Woolloomooloo’s famous breakfast plates and a vegetarian Eggs Benedict.

Untitled
 
 
Untitled

 

2. After linner, we walked down Xinyi Rd to Good Cho’s, where I browsed the Sunday market and took a peek inside the store and cafe.
 
Untitled

 

3. Good Cho’s current exhibit is a solo show by artist Zi Shi. I loved his gouache paintings!

Untitled

 

4. We braved the crowds of tourists and ventured into Taipei 101’s food court to pick up a few things from Jason’s. There, my nose discovered that it is durian season again.

Untitled

 

5. Then, in honor of our cat, we wrapped up Jorge Day with some seafood at the Oyster Bar in Bellavita.

Untitled

 

I have you had a great Jorge Day… or Cinco De Mayo if you don’t celebrate Jorge Day. Which is unimaginable to Jorge, but then again, he is a cat.